Biennial Conference: Rebuild Better Whakamanatia

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern with conference delegates

After many months of uncertainty, E tū held its third Biennial Conference, Rebuild Better Whakamanatia, at Eden Park in November. Seventy-five delegates came together for two days to learn more about how we can rebuild better in the wake of COVID-19.

Conference discussed a Just Transition for workers who will need to shift into low-carbon or alternative industries; ensuring Fair Pay Agreements to set national standards in industries like cleaning and security, and preventing the “race to the bottom” in pay and conditions for contracted workers by having a Government system for social procurement; the importance of the Living Wage in a post-COVID-19 world; and E tū’s online JobMatch tool to support decent jobs.

Green Party Co-Leader Marama Davidson and E tū Presidents Muriel Tunoho and Don Pryde


E tū National Executive member Gadiel Asiata

Te Runanga convenor Sharryn Barton was made an E tū Life Member, and Rasela (Sela) Mulitalo was recognised as Activist of the Year. E tū also honoured two long-standing and committed unionists: activist and caregiver Marianne Bishop, and New Zealander of the Year Jennifer Ward-Lealand, with their awards as Unionists of the Year.
Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, Green Party Co-Leader Marama Davidson, and Minister of Workplace Relations and Safety Michael Wood all reaffirmed their commitment to Fair Pay Agreements and the Living Wage for public sector contracted workers.

E tū Biennial Conference Awards

E tū Life Membership
Te Runanga Convenor Sharryn Barton

E tū Activist of the Year
Komiti Pasefika and E tū Youth representative Rasela (Sela) Mulitalo

E tū Unionist of the Year
Jennifer Ward-Lealand and Marianne Bishop